The Narcissist You Know:

Today’s social media and selfie-obsessed culture often celebrates narcissism. But the word is not at all benign: this psychological trait leads many people to bully and harm everyone around them, including friends, lovers, family, and coworkers. The Narcissist You Know offers a new concept to help explain this destructive, damaging behavior: “Extreme Narcissism.”  While most of us exhibit some mild narcissistic tendencies, “Extreme Narcissists” pose a serious danger to those around them.

In the tradition of The Sociopath Next Door, The Narcissist You Know is a useful guidebook to help you identify, understand, manage and coexist with narcissistic personalities. Relying on detailed profiles, celebrity biographies and vignettes from author Joseph Burgo, Ph.D.’s 30-plus years of clinical psychology practice, The Narcissist You Know offers easy-to-understand tools and solutions you can use to defuse hostile situations and survive assaults on your self-esteem should you ever find yourself in an extreme narcissist’s orbit.

A “...highly readable book…. and guide for understanding our own narcissism and for figuring out the roles these people can play in our lives. Clear, easily digestible pop psychology.” --Kirkus Reviews.